Nobel Peace Prize and MESPOM

The Nobel Peace Prize of 2007 has been awarded to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and Albert Arnold (Al) Gore Jr. "for their efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change".

We extend our warmest congratulations to three IPCC authors associated with MESPOM: Prof. Diana Urge-Vorsatz and Alexandra Novikova of CEU and Prof. Thomas B. Johansson of IIIEE.

MESPOM has other connections to the Nobel Peace Prize: Hanna Roberts of IIIEE is a chairperson of Amnesty International, (Nobel Peace Prize of 1977) and Dr. Hans-Holger Rogner, a CEU guest lecturer (2005), works for the International Atomic Energy Agency (Nobel Peace Prize of 2005).